Solo Guitar Arrangements #2 – Joy To The World

As we are still in the run up to Christmas I thought I’d tackle another Christmas hymn. This week it was ‘Joy To The World’ in open DADGAD tuning.

This track was recorded on my Merida Trajan T-45SSES electro-classical guitar direct to a Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 into Garageband with slight EQ (to take some bass out) and a Silververb.

I’m a big fan of open tunings when arranging for solo guitar as it forces me out of conventional conventional chord shapes and allows for new open sting voicings. DADGAD (open Dsus4) is particularly useful as it has the 1st, 4th and 5th of notes of D major available as open strings. Very helpful.

I started this arrangement with a drone approach to the harmony, which gives the melody a lot of room to breathe. I like this style as it almost gives a harp-like texture. The middle section pushes the melody up an octave and takes a more delicate approach to the harmony. The final section mixes the two with the added cliche of 12th fret harmonics to end, I have no shame.

Let me know what you think and what you’d like me to tackle next. Have a great Christmas!

Leave a Reply

