New Music #3 – Jamie Norton ‘I’ll Get Over This’

It’s finally out! I’ve been working on this one for a few months now with Jamie Norton. Jamie is an up and coming acoustic singer-songwriter based in Hampshire UK. For those in the area he can usually be seen playing at the local clubs in Southampton (Talking Heads,  Joiners etc.).

Here are his links and if you could check them out I know it’d mean a lot to him.

Jamie wrote the music and lyrics early this year and sent me a  basic acoustic demo for me to work from. The brief was to blend his more acoustic pop style with something more ambient and electronic in focus.

I started building a full backing track with MIDI instruments from that demo and sent him a copy of the session to record. I usually sent MIDI versions as they are more flexible if the artist wants to change the tempo or key during recording. In that file Jamie then recorded the acoustic guitar, vocals and the guitar solo direct and sent it back to me for mixing and mastering.

Once I had all of Jamie’s parts back, I recorded a live bass track (DI), piano, synth pads, live percussion (shaker and tambourine) and electric guitars for the chorus (Strat and a Tele). I then re-amped the Jamie’s guitar solo (through and Tiny Terror and Fender Hot-Rod) and automated the vocals to remove any noticeable plosives and sudden jumps in volume. I ended up using the Waves CLA Vocal plugin on the final mix as it really gave the vocals some presence and tamed the boxy low end.

The mixing process took a few versions to get everything balanced and the bass present but not overpowering the vocals but after mastering I’m really happy with the result. It took a while but I finally have a mastering template I’m happy with (sorted out the best Compression balance). That’s enough talking, here is the track on my soundcloud.

I’d love to know what you think of the track? If you’re interested in my other upcoming projects I wrote a blog post about it here. If you’d like to work with me on your own music or need someone to mix and master your recordings either leave me a comment or e-mail me at antony_cull@hotmail.com for a quote. Till next week, have fun!

Leave a Reply

