Coffee Time – A Look Back At 2016

It’s safe to say that 2016 has a been a strange year for the world at large, but given the number of social commentators tackling it I’m going to focus on my own life and career. The year has flown by at times but I’ve grown so much in the last twelve months as a person and an artist. Let’s take a look!

What have I been up to?

Similar to 2015 my full-time employment is my private teaching business. Business is good and I’ve seen my first student pursue music at university which was a wonderful moment. The business is gradually shifting to online lessons (via Skype) this year which allows me to teach people from all over the country and provide the most cost effective lessons for my clients. If you’d like to book a taster session check out this page for lesson here, or for online click here.

Like many creative people, the time and hard work you spend on your social media and website can often feel like a thankless task. So I want to take this opportunity to thank everyone for helping mine to grow. I’ve seen my Youtube channel and this blog grow way beyond my targets and I can’t wait to create content more for you guys in the new year.

This year I released my debut solo EP, ‘Digital Sleep’ into the wild. I had been apprehensive to commercially release a lot of my previous music, as it tended to span a lot of different sounds and genres. When these tracks all came together, with a distinct sound that ran through them all, I knew it was time for a full release. For those that haven’t had a chance to check it out it the EP combines elements of classic Trance and House with more modern Ambient sounds and melodically driven EDM. Here is the Spotify playlist for your listening pleasure! For more about it click here.

My other job is music production which has really taken off this year. I’ve had the pleasure of recording, producing, mixing and mastering a number of artists including Jamie Norton, Jared Sinfield, Ollie Woods, Dan Gilbert. Next year sees me producing a range of tracks for Dan Gilbert as well as producing Jared Sinfield’s first EP release. I’m constantly investing both time and money in this part of my career as I just love that feeling of getting a track to sound the best it can and then releasing it into the world. If you’d like to here what I’ve been unto you can check it out below (it’ll be updated ever time a new track is released). If you’d like to work with me on your tracks take a look at the dedicated page here and drop me a line!

Final Thoughts

Looking back it’s been a good year. I’ve worked really hard and gradually things are starting to pay off as my career gets more traction. If you’d asked me where I wanted to be this time last year I’d have been pretty modest about my aspirations and I’ve exceeded all of them. As for next year I’ve got some new music in the pipeline, a couple of production jobs and outlines for a load of new online content so next year is looking good already.

Thanks for reading and I hope you’ve also had a good year and I can’t wait to see you all in the next year. Let me know what you’d like to see on the blog in the new year and I’ll get to work on it, thanks!

Leave a Reply

